Tropenhitze

Kannst du das spüren?

Verifying wordpress.com blog on Google Webmaster

with 22 comments

Click on the link below to sign in to Google webmasters

http://www.google.com/webmasters/

Click on Add a Site on the webmasters home page and enter your wordpress.com blog address. For example tropenhitze.wordpress.com

On the Verify ownership page that appears next, on the verification method select Meta tag (if that’s not selected by default) and copy the tag. It looks something like

<meta name=”google-site-verification” content=”Tedd4dgfdfTP9JGhfketijJTI747gafkfS2gfdfTP9JGhfke”/>

Logon to http://www.wordpress.com with your blog ID and password and go to Dashboard and click on Tools, which you can find on the bottom of the left pane.

Scroll down to Webmaster Tools Verification and paste the entire tag on the text box against Google Webmaster Tools and click on save changes. You may notice the tag now stripped off automatically leaving only the content ID contained in the meta tag you copied. Don’t worry.

Now you just need to go back to the Google webmaster page and click on verify. If it fails you may try after some time or probably you need to re-read the instructions carefully. Don’t worry it works!

Please leave your feedback.

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thank you, it worked!

    stacia garland

    January 24, 2010 at 8:46 PM

    • Thanks for taking pains to comment!. Most people don’t do that.

      Ragavan N

      January 25, 2010 at 10:42 AM

  2. I just wasted an hour trying different hacks that do not work, until I found your blog post. Thank you very much!

    Anas Qtiesh

    February 3, 2010 at 2:19 AM

  3. I can not find a tools verification place. Under tools it tells you to put the meta tag in the “appropriate place, but there is no place.

    SEC

    February 27, 2010 at 7:24 AM

    • You have to click on the tools under My Dashboard and not under Global Dashboard.

      Click on My Dashboard and Tools and scroll down to enter the META tags..

      Ragavan N

      February 27, 2010 at 8:51 AM

      • That is what I did. I used my dashboard NOT global
        Near the bottom on the left was the tools icon – it gave three choices, tools, inport, export. I clicked on tools – it said I needed to put the tag in the “Appropriate spacd” but there was NO place ther. There was NO enter meta tags. NONE

        SEC

        February 27, 2010 at 9:25 AM

        • Seems weird. I have this option and all the other users have also had this. If you scroll down the tools page you should see something like “Webmaster Tools Verification (?)” below which there will be 3 text boxes. Aren’t there any text boxes on your tools page when you scroll down? Can you try with a different browser? It seems really strange and I can’t help but ask you to try not-so-meaningful workarounds. 😦

          Ragavan N

          February 27, 2010 at 9:37 AM

          • OK I ffound the problem – When I hover over the tools icon I see three choices, tools, import, and
            export. When I select tools, I get several things.

            First is Turbo information, then is Press This, followed by Post by mail. After that is “Webmaster tools Verification.

            ****I just solved the problem****

            When I did a copy and past of what I have in to
            this email – it showes text boxes, but on my page it does *not* show text boxes. I previously had tried clicking on the name, and right next the name with no
            luck before. Now I can see the text box is further to the right than that.

            I just went back again and clicked on empty space but this time about two inches to the right of the name and low and behold – a text box was there! It must
            be my template style that does not let it show up!

            Geeze! So I have now finished the verifications.

            ****However***** – when I did do the verification for google, it said there are no tags?? What are they and how do I get them – remember – I need very specific help (I have a head injury and I really do need specific help now, that is what my blog is about – living with a head injury).

            Also thanks for all the help you are giving me.

            Please just help me with this one last thing.

            SEC

            February 27, 2010 at 6:14 PM

            • “when I did do the verification for google, it said there are no tags” –> which one said? wordpress.com or google?

              The tag looks something like this
              <meta name='google-site-verification' content='dBw5CvburAxi537Rp9qi5uG2174Vb6JwHwIRwPSLIK8'>

              You need to copy this from google webmaster and paste it in the text box against "Google Webmaster Tools" under Webmaster Tools Verification (?).

              Then you logon to google webmaster and you can see the status verified, if not immediately, at least after some time.

              Ragavan N

              February 27, 2010 at 9:46 PM

  4. Hi,
    thanks for this tips but unfortunately i cant find the place to insert the metatag. When i click at the Tools there are 4 options to choose from Tools,import,export and upgrade. I clicked at the tools there are 2 options and they are Turbo: Gears Status and Press This.
    Could it be a plugin or a theme that differentiate the wordpress from one another? Cause seems like you have it and i dont

    i-cute

    April 26, 2010 at 3:56 PM

    • Is your blog hosted on http://www.wordpress.com or have you hosted your wordpress blog in some other server? I mean, tell me your blog address so that I can help you.
      Blogs hosted on wordpress.com should have the option “Webmaster Tools Verification” under Tools.

      Ragavan N

      April 26, 2010 at 4:09 PM

      • i hosted it on my own and not with wordpress.com, i just notice yesterday that this feature is only available for people who hosted their wordpress with wordpress.com.As for my case, i need to do it different way. A few ways i figure out while surfing for this solution:
        One is by making a new page and set the title of the page with the google verification code derived from the “Upload an HTML file” in webmaster tool.
        But ive tried this solution and unfortunately it wont works. Some say the google already change how they read the code in the wordpress so i try another solution by adding on an SEO plugin called AOF SEO plugin but it wont work too.
        So my last option is to insert it manually in the server by using the html file downloaded which i doubt to do cuz all the files in the wordpress are in php format so some how i need to inject the code using a programming skills(im not so good at it)…
        any suggestion anyone?

        i-cute

        April 27, 2010 at 9:44 AM

  5. i have exactly the same question – where to paste the verifiction code in WP if your site is hosted elsewhere…?

    Please help

    Justin

    May 6, 2010 at 2:08 PM

    • I’m sorry buddy, I have no clue. In order not to be ambiguous, I’ve mentioned in my post “wordpress.com blog” and not “wordpress blog”

      Ragavan N

      May 6, 2010 at 3:33 PM

  6. Hi Ragavan,

    Thanks a ton for your tips. Had tried this thing a year back but couldnt verify but with your help did that today.

    Thanks a lot. 🙂

    silentwhisperss

    June 3, 2010 at 11:43 AM

  7. Ah, perfect! Thanks for the tip!

    moviesandmusings

    June 10, 2010 at 3:36 AM

    • You’re welcome! Thanks for your comment!
      Es freut mich! Danke für Ihren Kommentar!

      Ragavan N

      July 18, 2010 at 8:43 PM

  8. hy

    Streza Florin

    December 8, 2010 at 7:17 PM

  9. Good read guys.

    Kaspar

    December 9, 2010 at 2:48 AM

  10. thanks it helped me big time 🙂

    hiranaeem

    January 4, 2011 at 1:34 PM

  11. super article. Great website. carry on.

    suresh

    August 16, 2011 at 5:58 PM


Leave a Reply

